#126: Electro-Funk February 1984

Heading back 40 years to February 1984 with a chart run down of the top 30 Electro-Funk, Hip Hop and Freestyle 12″ singles in the Groove Electro Chart from 4th February 1984.

New entries from Melle Mel, Davy D.M.X’s first single, Jenny Burton’s (John Robie produced) ‘Vena Cava’ and Soul Sonic Force’s Renegades of Funk arrives.

U.F.O by Treacherous 3
Intelligence (Instrumental + Vocal) by Monzie D
Lectric Ziggee Groove (Dub) by Ziggee Toir
Hey DJ (Instrumental) by World’s Famous Supreme Team
Martin Luther by Hurt ‘Em Bad
Megamix by Herbie Hancock
Jesse by Grandmaster & Melle Mel
We Are Known As Emcees by Crash Crew
Jam The House (Instrumental) Felix & Jarvis
Getting To the Point by Vicious 4
Vena Cava by Jenny Burton
Chicken Scratch (Dub Mix) by G. Adams & D.J. Freeze
One for the Treble by Davy D.M.X.
Fresh (Vocal + Instrumental) by Fresh 3 MC’S
Break It Up/Breaking Point by Contact-U
Big Apple Noise by Trans-Lux
Renegades of Funk by Afrika Bambaataa & Soulsonic Force
Fresh (Scratch Mix) by Tyrone Brunson
No Sell Out by Malcolm X

First broadcast on Radio Reverb 97.2FM & DAB, Brighton, UK on 4th Februa4ry 2024

Full chart from Echoes newspaper, 4th February 1984:

Leave a Reply